The PETAA Board

Directors are elected from the membership at the AGM in accordance with the Constitution

The Primary English Teaching Association Australia (PETAA) is a not-for-profit national professional teaching association. The association was incorporated in 1982. PETAA is governed by a Board of Directors, who determine the organisation’s strategic direction and to whom the General Manager and operations team report.

Outside view of PETAA Offices - second floor to leftBoard Directors April 2019

Current PETAA Board Directors are:

Company Secretary: Kevin Peters

The Board comprises:

  • President
  • Two Vice Presidents
  • Four other Directors.

The term of office for elected directors is normally three years. From time to time Board appointments are made to fill a vacancy.

Robyn Cox, PhD, M St Ed, Grad Dip Ed Stud, Dip Teaching

Robyn is currently Associate Professor of Literacy Education at ACU National, Strathfield campus. Prior to this she was Principal Lecturer at the University of Worcester, UK and a member of the executive committee of the United Kingdom Literacy Association (UKLA).

Robyn has also held positions at Universities in Australia, Singapore and Brunei Darussalam. She is the author of several international journal articles in the field of literacy research and has been involved in teacher education in four countries over a 20 year period.

Robyn is well known for her commitment to the development of a strong professional knowledge base in initial teacher education and remains dedicated to bringing accessible educational research and theory to teacher education students. Robyn’s interest also lies in teacher professional development.

Therese Gawthorne

Therese Gawthorne, M Instr Lead (Uni Melb), M Ed (WSU), B Ed, Dip Teach (ACU)

Therese has over 30 years’ experience as an educator in NSW primary schools, teaching all grades K-6 across rural and metropolitan settings, predominantly in schools of socio-economic disadvantage. She has held a range of leadership roles in schools for the last 20 years, with responsibility for leading teacher professional learning, particularly in aspects of literacy.

Therese is currently working as a Curriculum Advisor with the NSW Department of Education, where she enjoys the opportunity to build the capacity of teachers across a range of schools, continuously striving for excellence in improving student outcomes.

Board member Julie Hayes

Julie Hayes, BEd (University of South Australia)

Julie has worked in schools as a teacher and leader, both here and in the UK, for nearly 35 years. She retired in 2019 having been Principal of Cowandilla Primary School in Adelaide for the past 16 years. Most of her career was spent in schools and preschools with high numbers of migrant and refugee children. Knowing the important role language plays in learning and social interaction in and out of school, Julie ensured her teachers were trained in and Accelerated Literacy and Systemic Functional Linguistics. Teachers need to be experts in order to help children construct highly effective oral, written and visual texts.

Julie has been an active member of state and national Principals’ associations and won the 2019 John Laing Award for her contribution to professional learning in South Australia.

Pauline Jones

Pauline Jones, Ph.D. (UNSW)

Pauline Jones has over 20 years' experience as a tertiary teacher educator specialising in language and literacy research, curriculum and pedagogy. Having completed her PhD on oral language in 2005, Dr Jones' current research is in the use of student generated multimodal texts in Science, and language and literacy transitions across schooling years. Dr Jones has written extensively for teachers (in- and pre-service) in language and literacy and most recently completed co-editing of a book on dialogue in teaching and professional learning for the PETAA book — Talking the Talk.

Helen Kenworthy

Helen Kenworthy, Grad Dip (Applied Linguistics), BEd, Dip Ed Primary

Helen has been an educator in Queensland for more than 30 years and is currently an Assistant Regional Director for Queensland Department of Education and Training.

Helen is very passionate about her work and strives to make a difference in the lives of the students in all her schools. She is an instructional leader working closely with leadership teams and teachers in implementing the Australian Curriculum, developing a deep understanding of effective practices in the teaching of reading and writing, and using data to ensure every student is learning.

Bronwyn Parkin

Bronwyn Parkin, PhD (University of Adelaide), Master of Education (UniSA)

Bronwyn Parkin has 30 years' experience in supporting language and literacy teachers beginning in Aboriginal Education, remote and metropolitan through the South Australia Accelerated Literacy program focused on disadvantaged schools; through the recent PETAA research grants investigating academic language pedagogy with educationally marginalised students; and as a consultant working in disadvantaged contexts. Dr Parkin has been a member of the Literacy Education Advisory Committee of South Australian Department of Education.

Timothy Warwick

Timothy Warwick BA Arts/Law (UQ), MA teach (University of Melbourne)

Tim Warwick is the Acting Principal at Gowrie St Primary School in Shepparton. Earlier in his career, he taught Legal Studies and Humanities at Wanganui Park Secondary College. Tim has led and supported a number of Indigenous education and cultural awareness strategies which have been launched in schools across the Murray Goulburn Valley region. He was the Project Co-ordinator for the Kaiela Dhungala First Peoples Curriculum and is on the boards of Ganbina and Boundless, two organisations aimed at supporting the aspirations of our young people.