Candidates for election to the PETAA Board of Directors 2020

PETAA Annual General Meeting Thursday 23 July, 2020

Map of AustraliaVoting procedure in 2020

Two PETAA Board directors are to be elected by digital voting, in a locked and confidential ballot, via invitation and confirmation emails sent to financial members of PETAA.

All members who remain subscribed to PETAA emails have the opportunity to vote digitally — following the link to a ballot in an invitation email, then responding to confirm that vote — from when voting opens until the close of digital voting at 5pm AEST on Tuesday 21 July 2020.


Tanya Abell (QLD) is principal of Manly West Independent Public School and a member of the Metropolitan Region EAL/D Working Party and Metropolitan Region Behaviour Services Working Party. She works collaboratively to develop the strategic direction and appropriate programming to support students in response to current and emerging trends and educational best practice. She believes that enabling teachers to develop invigorated curriculum that is underpinned by effective pedagogy, whilst maintaining alignment with standards, is beneficial both to student learning and teacher satisfaction.

Mardi Gorman (VIC) is a current PETAA Board member who has also served on the boards of St Columba's School and St Bernard's School. She has worked as a classroom teacher, literacy leader, and an literacy consultant both in Australia and in the US. In 2018, she was contracted to work with the University of Melbourne Network of Schools, an initiative that provided teachers and leaders the opportunity to connect the academic research of the university to teaching practice in schools. She believes in the value that comes with providing professional learning opportunities through valid, thought-provoking literature, research and methods that support effective teaching practice. She works closely with teachers from different schools and systems and has a broad perspective on what teachers need to further their learning and practice.

Melanie McDonald (QLD) is Director of the Professional Learning Hub in the Ipswich Corridor, supporting the professional development of Early Career teachers and Mentors. She works with school leadership teams and regional staff to build consistency in mentoring practices. She also connect with HEI's and Pre-service teachers, and runs regular professional development and networking events. Her previous role was in a school as the pedagogy coach, where her focus was on the development of a consistent approach to the teaching of reading; she has over 20 years' experience in teaching and leadership roles in schools. Reading and early literacy development has always been a passion for Melanie and believes that her connections to schools and classrooms gives her a good understanding of teacher development needs; she is committed to building capacity in others.

Jan Warhurst (NSW) has spent a significant part of her career in two schools for over ten years each (North Sydney Demonstration School and Curl Curl North Public School), where she grew and refined her teaching skills through quality teaching projects, research with academic partners and colleagues and dynamic teaching and learning in the classroom. She and her colleague won the inaugural Australian Literacy Educator’s Association (ALEA) grant under her leadership and produced evidence through case studies that creative and quality pedagogy can improve literacy outcomes for students. She has a passion for working with teachers, students and academics to improve literacy outcomes for students.